In order to draw attention towards and to promote specific individuals or projects, the non-profit GAA-Foundation (GAAF) awarded in 2010-2012-2013 and 2014 an artist(s) or architect(s) for his/her/their outstanding concept and execution thereof.

Since 2015 this prize is awarded by the European Cultural Centre and therefore renamed in the ECC Award. The ECC will give this Award each time to an artist(s), architect(s) or designer(s) who is/are dedicated to their concept over a longer period of time and whereby this concept and the execution thereof is in our opinion of significant meaning.


The ECC Award has been previously given to: 

2018   Odile Decq (FRA)   ECC Award Architecture 
2018   North Carolina State University College of Design (USA)   ECC Award Architecture Education
2018   Ying Gao (CAN)    ECC Award Design 
2017   Joseph Kosuth (USA) for his life long dedication to create Meaning with contemporary art.   ECC Award Art
2017   Oki Sato, Studio Nendo (JPN) for his contribution to the world of Design.   ECC Award Design
2016    Denise Scott Brown (USA) for her life-long dedication to architecture    ECC Award Architecture 
    and her presentation of "Wayward Eye" at the Venice Biennale 2016.  
2016   Karim Rashid (Canada/USA) for his personal contribution to the world of Design   ECC Award Design
2015   Yoko Ono (Japan) for her continuing efforts to promote "Imagine Peace"   ECC Award Art 
2014   The University of Houston, (USA): Gerald D. Hines College Of Architecture,    ECC Award Architecture 
    Dean Patricia Belton Oliver and Peter Jay Zweig    
2013   Arnulf Rainer (Austria) for his work series "Rainer - Klimt - Schiele"   ECC Award Art 
2012   Arata Isozaki (Japan) for his Project in cooperation with   ECC Award Architecture 
    the Administrative Committee of Zhengdong New District  
2011   Roman Opalka (France-Poland) for his life long depiction of "Time Passing"   ECC Award Art 
2010   Sasaki (Japan) for his more than 15 years ongoing Heartbeat Project.   ECC Award Art 

Shortlisted for the ECC Award have been:

2018   ECC Architecture Award   
    Peter Eisenman (USA), Odile Decq (FRA), Daniel Libeskind (POL/USA), Curt Fentress (USA), Moshe Safdie (CAN), Kengo Kuma (JPN), Nikken Sekkei (JPN)  
2018   ECC Architecture University Project Award   
    North Carolina State University College of Design (USA), University of Cincinnati (USA), SoA Syracuse University (USA), University of Arkansas - Fay Jones School of A&D (USA), University of NSW with Government Architect NSW, Tongji University (CHN), ENSA Strasbourg (FRA)  
2018   ECC Design Award  
    Atelier Maximun (FRA), Naqsh Collective (JOR), Ying Gao (CAN), About A Worker (FRA), Coalesce Studio (PAK)  
2017   ECC Art Award   
    Nobuyoshi Araki (JPN), Daniel Buren (FRA), Marina Abramovic (SRB), Joseph Kosuth (USA), Hermann Nitsch (AUT), Mike Parr (AUS), Lawrence Weiner (USA)  
2017   ECC Design Award  
    Yi Chen & Muchen Zhang (CHN), Anton Hendrik Denys (BEL), Estúdio Ronald Sasson (BRA), Alessandro Ciffo (ITA)  
2016   ECC Architecture Award   
    Auckland University of Technology & University of Sydney (NZL-AUS), Peter Eisenman (USA), Denise Scott Brown (USA), ETH Zurich (CHE), GMP (GER), Curt Fentress (USA), Ideal Spaces Group (DEU-SWE)  
2016   ECC Design Award  
    Eckhard Beger (CHE), Paul Kelley (GBR), Satyendra Pakhale (IND), Karim Rashid (CAN-USA), Robert Wettstein (CHE)  
2015   ECC Art Award   
    Joseph Kosuth (USA), Francois Morellet (FRA), Lee Nam Lee (KOR), Yoko Ono (JPN), Gunther Uecker (DEU), herman de vries (NLD)  
2014   ECC Architecture Award   

  Allford Hall Monaghan Morris (GBR), Ricardo Bofill (ESP), Norman Foster+Partners (GBR), The University of Houston, (USA), White arkitekter (SWE)